Although All My Stories are Behind the Medium Paywall

Janice Macdonald
1 min readJun 25, 2024

For some reason this one wasn’t…..and it’s not the first time this has happened.

I have no idea why this story, which has 700 claps and a dozen or more responses is not included in the Partner Program. And, consequently, has earned nothing. I did nothing different this time than with any of my other 400 plus stories. So what gives? Perhaps. Medium didn’t Like the title and thought I was too drugged up to care. Wrong. I’m paying attention…..

Messages to Medium are initially acknowledged then seem to fall into the Devil’s Triangle and disappear. So no answer there.

I had a similar experience with another story which, I wrote, seemed to have been consigned to purgatory. Several emails to Medium, no response. Eventually though it received the Medium blessing and was back on the Partner’s Program earning list. But why does this keep happening ? And why is there no Medium response ?

Has anyone had a similar experience, or can shed some light on this? While most Medium stories, mine at least, only earn a few dollars, they mount up….

Thanks for any feedback.

--

--

Janice Macdonald

At 68, I started a new chapter in my life: I moved to France. Alone. It turned out to be quite the page-turner. Still is — even when age insists on a part.