Janice Macdonald
1 min readOct 6, 2022

--

First, Susie, huge congratulations on your $1,000 story. Writing about money shouldn't be something we're ashamed to do. Writing is definitely not a lucrative profession (other than for the exalted few) and many writers, myself included, are far too ready to literally write for nothing, or next to, just to have their work see the light of day.

I do think we undervalue ourselves-- Medium is unlikely to make anyone wealthy, but money is a form of validation and I find it dispiriting to see earnings drop.

I wrote story about this last week: https://janicemacdonald.medium.com/am-i-just-reading-medium-tea-leaves-getting-spooked-or-is-there-something-to-the-sudden-drop-in-ff678a907583

Lamenting decreased earnings does not at all negate all the other benefits I've enjoyed in the eleven months I've been on Medium--something I've also addressed in my story. I will continue to write and publishe stories and look forward to reading pieces from other writers I've met on this platform. That alone makes the experience worthwhile. But money helps too.

--

--

Janice Macdonald

At 68, I started a new chapter in my life: I moved to France. Alone. It turned out to be quite the page-turner. Still is — even when age insists on a part.